Ventana Sur is the most important audiovisual content market in Latin America, a must-attend event for distributors and buyers in the international industry. Organized by the National Institute of Cinema and Audiovisual Arts (INCAA) and the Marché du Film – Festival de Cannes, it brings together different players in the audiovisual industry to promote the co-production, financing, and international distribution of Latin American content.

Every year, the Buenos Aires event receives buyers and sellers from the five continents, as well as representatives of the most important international chains and platforms. Throughout the various sessions, business rounds are held with content producers, pitching sessions, and individual meetings, as well as round tables, specific activities for producers with projects in development, workshops, talks, and conferences on current and future topics.

The event is divided into various sections: First Cut, Final Print, Blood Window, Animation!, Proyecta, Punto Género, SoloSeries, The Principle of Film, Maquinitas and DocSur, which are added to the activities and services offered, such as conferences, screenings, and Video Library. It provides a unique promotion of Latin American content in all formats and genres (fiction, docs, animation, fantasy, queer Latin American), offering a wide range of unique business and promotion opportunities in the region.


The Pepe Escriche Award was established in 2009, as a tribute to one of the forerunners of the festival, who also led it for over thirty years. José María Escriche passed away in 2008. The Huesca Film Festival Foundation decided to celebrate this homage to honour the understanding between different cultures through cinema. This prize is awarded to organizations, institutions, personal or collective initiatives related to cinema and audio visual arts and is authored by sculptor Isidro Ferrer.

People and institutions awarded from the first edition are those as follows: La Escuela de San Antonio de los Baños (2009), World Cinema Fund (2010), María Lourdes Cortés (2011), Morelia International Film Festival (2012), Spanish Film Archive (2014), Cine en construcción (2015), Pilar Martínez-Vasseaur (2016), Ibermedia (2017), the Spanish Academy of Cinematographic Arts and Sciences (2018), Egeda (2019), Bergman Chair (2020), and CIMA, Association of Women Filmmakers and Audiovisual Media (2021) and Instituto Cervantes (2022).