The actress Marisa Paredes will receive the Luis Buñuel Award of the 47th International Film Festival of Huesca. The event recognizes and honors his entire professional career.


Marisa Paredes (Madrid, 1946) is one of the most internationally recognized Spanish actresses. Her debut came when she was 14, in a supporting role in the comedy Los económicamente débiles (1960). The beginning of her career was focused mainly on theater, making her first steps as an actress in the Conchita Montes theatre company, in the play Esta noche tampoco (1961), by López Rubio.

At the end of the 60s, she is offered TV opportunities and works in programs such as Las doce caras de Juan (1967), Teatro de siempre (1967-1971), Ficciones (1971-1974) and Novela (1966-1976) from Televisión Española.

Her cinematographic career extends throughout six decades, some of her most iconic works are directed by Pedro Almodovar. Together with the internationally recognized director, she works on films such as Tacones lejanos (High Heals) in 1991, for which she won the Best Actress award at the Cartagena Film Festival and the Fotogramas de Plata and the Union of Spanish Actors’ award. She also accompanied Almodovar in La flor de mi secreto (The flower of my secret) for which she was nominated to the Goya for the second time and to the Fotogramas de Plata for the fourth time in 1995. Another of the outstanding films she acted in is Todo sobre mi madre (All about my mother) in 1999, which won the Oscar for Best Foreign Language film. Before that, she had a relevant leading role in the debut film of Agustí Villaronga: Tras el cristal (In a glass cage) (1986).

The talent of this actress from Madrid has crossed borders; she has worked for productions such as Roberto Benigni’s La vita è bella (Life is beautiful), Guillermo del Toro’s El espinazo del diablo (The Devil’s Backbone) and El coronel no tiene quien le escribe (No One Writes to the Colonel) and Profundo Carmesí (Deep Crimson) by Arturo Ripstein (City of Huesca Award in 1995). Throughout her career, Marisa Paredes has shared the screen with other important cinema names such as Jean Rochefort, Catherine Deneuve and Marcello Mastroiannio, furthermore, she has worked for authors who are part of the history of the seventh art, such as Amos Gitai and Manoel de Oliveira.

Marisa Paredes has been president of the Academy of Arts and Cinematographic Science of Spain (between 2000 and 2003), and among her most recent works, she acted in Petra, a feature film by Jaime Rosales premiered at the last edition of the Cannes Film Festival which also won the award for the best Ibero-American film at the Guadalajara Festival.


The Luis Buñuel Award honours a career and a professional life in the world of cinema. It was established in 1998 gathering the feelings of the Management Committee, after the festival held several ceremonies in Buñuel’s honour and following the approval of his sons Juan Luis and Rafael.

The initial trophy was created by the renowned artist from Huesca Eduardo Cajal, produced in bronze and detachable. It represented the threshold of a door and, according to the author, was inspired by the feature film The Exterminating Angel.

Nine years afterwards, the image of the trophy was changed, concretely in the 34th edition, by the artist from Zaragoza Fernando Sinaga. It was a spread out fan that, according to the author, represented at the same time ‘seduction’ and the idea of ‘the secret and the occult’.

In the 42nd edition, a new trophy was requested to Huesca born artist Antonio Santos by the new direction. The new award, christened as The Chorus Girl, breaks with the traditional trophy concept. The work, designed by Huesca born artist Antonio Santos, consists of different parts that make up the figure of a chorus girl.

Santos is a sculptor, painter and illustrator. He studied Fine Arts at Barcelona Faculty and lived in Paris. He has participated in more than 50 solo exhibitions during his 25 years of artistic career. He was awarded the Rafael de Penagos Drawing Prize, the Daniel Gil Prize and the second National Illustration Award 2003 for Pancho, published by Kalandraka. He has collaborated with other publishing houses as Siruela, Sinsentido, SM and Libros del Zorro Rojo.

Among the most outstanding personalities who have received this award, there can be found José Luis Borau (1998), Michel Piccoli (1999), Silvia Pinal (2000), Patrice Leconte (2001), Aki Kaurismaki (2002), Jerzy Kawalerowicz (2003), Jean Troell (2004), André Techiné (2005), Pedro Armendáriz Jr. (2006), Vittorio y Paolo Taviani (2007), Bertrand Tavernier (2008), Theo Angelopoulos (2009), Ángela Molina (2010), Elías Querejeta (2011), Stephen Fears (2012), Adolpho Arrietta (2013), Carlos Saura (2014), Laurent Cantet (2015), Jean Claude Carrière (2016), Costa Gavras and Alex de la Iglesia (2017), and José Sacristán (2018).