The Pepe Escriche Award of the 48th edition of the Huesca International Film Festival goes to the Catedra Bergman, an initiative of the National Autonomous University of Mexico focused on cinema and theater that this year celebrates its tenth anniversary. The purpose of the Chair lies in the creation of a space for academic reflection and training that strengthens and expands the cinematographic and theatrical culture among university students and society in general. Without any doubt, this objective fully connects with the spirit of the award. Its commendable work has brought films from both sides of the Atlantic creating a cultural bridge based on the seventh art. Outstanding personalities such as Terry Gilliam, Juliette Binoche, Guillermo Arriaga, Geraldine Chaplin, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Lucrecia Martel and Carlos Saura, from Huesca, are just some of the names that have taken part in their activities over the last decade, a clear demonstration of the work carried out which the festival wishes to recognize with this prize.

Since its creation in 2010, the Bergman Chair has completed half a thousand projects with hundreds of activities such as lectures, master classes, workshops, seminars, experimental practices, round tables, film cycles, theatrical seasons, exhibitions, publications and tributes, reaching more than 70,000 attendees over almost ten years. The constant and attractive offer of the Bergman Chair has positioned this program as a prestigious space for reflection, training and meeting around cinema and performing arts. The excellent learning and bonding opportunities it generates, translate into a profound impact on its audiences, made up of the university community and art professionals, as well as people who wish to find in these disciplines a reflection of themselves and the current world we live in.


The Pepe Escriche Award was established in 2009, as a tribute to one of the forerunners of the festival, who also led it for over thirty years. José María Escriche passed away in 2008. The Huesca Film Festival Foundation decided to celebrate this homage to honour the understanding between different cultures through cinema. This prize is awarded to organizations, institutions, personal or collective initiatives related to cinema and audio visual arts and is authored by sculptor Isidro Ferrer.

People and institutions awarded from the first edition are those as follows: La Escuela de San Antonio de los Baños (2009), World Cinema Fund (2010), María Lourdes Cortés (2011), Morelia International Film Festival (2012), Spanish Film Archive (2014), Cine en construcción (2015), Pilar Martínez-Vasseaur (2016) and Ibermedia (2017) and the Spanish Academy of Cinematographic Arts and Sciences (2018).