The actress Anna Castillo will receive the Carlos Saura City of Huesca Award at the 48th edition of Huesca International Film Festival.

Anna Castillo (Barcelona, 1993) got involved in acting as a child; graduated with a Bachelors of Performing Arts, her passion for this profession was formalised at the age of seven, when she started her training. Her versatility was manifest quite early, at the age of 12 she enrolled the music group sp3 (she was a member for five years); when she was 15 years old, she signed up for one of the referent shows for children audience at Televisió de Catalunya: Club Super3; where she played ‘Anna’, a character that gave her great popularity at her homeland.

After appearing in several short films, 2010 marks a step forward in her career, her first opportunity on the big screen came thanks to Elena Trapé with the feature film Blog (that participated in San Sebastián Festival), she debuted on the stage with the musical A by Nacho Cano and joined the cast of Antena 3’s series Doctor Mateo.

In her third length film, Ghost Graduation by Javier Ruiz Caldera (Three Many Weddings, Superlópez), she was on the bill with other remarkable names of the present Spanish cinema such as Raúl Arévalo, Alexandra Jiménez, Aura Garrido, Carlos Areces or Silvia Abril. This work was followed in 2013 by Antena 3’s series Amar es para siempre, combined until 2014 with Holy Camp!, highly acclaimed by critics and audience, Javier Ambrossi and Javier Calvo’s musical starred by Macarena García.

Her film breakthrough came with the role of The Olive Tree (2015) by Icíar Bollaín, a film that featured her and Javier Gutiérrez, for which she won a Goya Award for Best New Actress. After this award, she took part in series as remarkable as El Ministerio del Tiempo, Paquita Salas or Estoy vivo, while she shot two more films: Gold by Agustín Díaz Yanes and the film adaptation of the work Holy Camp!. With this last one, she was once again nominated to the Goya Awards, this time as Best Supporting Actress.

2018 is also another important year, Journey to a Mother’s Room was premiered at San Sebastián Festival, Celia Rico’s debut work, where Anna worked together with Lola Dueñas, and she participated in Movistar + series, Madrid on Fire, created and directed by Paco León. These two roles were awarded at 2019 Feroz Awards ceremony, as she became one of the greatest protagonists of the occasion.

Among her last projects there can be found the recent Adú by Salvador Calvo (the top-grossing Spanish film of 2020) and Mariano Barroso’s series for Movistar +: La línea invisible; as well as La vida era eso by David Martín de los Santos, due for release.


With the City of Huesca Award, Huesca International Film Festival recognizes the bright professional career of young figures of the world cinema which, in addition, have a promising professional future. It has been awarded since 1991, and in 2018 the Huesca Film Festival Foundation, along with the Festival’s management team and the filmmaker Carlos Saura, decide to change the nomenclature of the prize to denominate Carlos Saura City of Huesca, with the approval of the director. Carlos Saura, born in Huesca, has one of the most awarded international filmographies, one of the names with capital letters in the history of the seventh art and thus intends to pay a sincere tribute to the city festival that saw him born.

The Carlos Saura City of Huesca Award has honoured the career of figures such as Carlos Saura (1991), José María Forqué (1992), Fernando Trueba (1993), Imanol Uribe (1994), Arturo Ripstein (1995), Gerardo Herrero (1996), Francisco J. Lombardi (1997), Manuel Gutierrez Aragón (1998), Bigas Luna (1999), Ventura Pons (2000), Juanjo Puigcorbé (2001), Vicente Aranda (2002), Zelimir Kilnik (2003), Mercedes Sampietro (2004), Julio Medem (2005), Gracia Querejeta (2006), Marc Recha (2007), José María Escriche (2008), Basilio Martín Patino (2009), Montxo Armendáriz (2010), José Luis Guerin (2011), Icíar Bollaín (2012), Adriana Ugarte (2014), Silvia Abascal (2015), Paula Ortiz (2016), Leticia Dolera (2017), Aura Garrido (2018), and Rodrigo Sorogoyen & Isabel Peña (2019).